5 spine, orthopedic surgeons honored in Q2 | 2024


Five spine and orthopedic surgeons earned honors in the second quarter of 2024.

1. The American Association of Neurological Surgeons named Steven Glassman, MD, an honorary member, a spokesperson for Norton Medical Group said. Dr. Glassman, of Louisville, Ky.-based Norton Leatherman Spine, is the first person to earn the award since 2007. The honor recognized him for his work to pave collaboration among orthopedic surgeons and neurosurgeons.

2. Marc Levine, MD, earned the 2024 DeGroote Award from the Medical Society of New Jersey. Dr. Levine, director of orthopedic spine surgery at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Hamilton, was recognized for his service in the medical profession.

3. Michael Ciccotti, MD, an orthopedic surgeon with Philadelphia-based Rothman Orthopaedic Institute, was honored by the Philadelphia Phillies for 30 years of working with the team. Dr. Ciccotti, who is retiring from this role with the team, spent 25 of those 30 years as head team physician and medical director. He received a custom-framed glove that includes accolades of the players he cared for. This is the first time the team gave a keepsake glove to a non-player.

4. Drew Spencer, MD, medical director of neurosurgery at Northwestern Medicine Palos Hospital in Palos Heights, Ill., has received the inaugural St. George Foundation Distinguished Physician Award for neurosurgery. The award recognizes physicians who achieve both personal and professional excellence in the field of neurosurgery.

5. Steven B. Haas, MD, chief of the knee service at New York City-based Hospital for Special Surgery, was honored by the hospital for his work, along with radiology chair Hollis Potter, MD.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.