ISASS honors spine surgeons, researchers with 3 big awards

Laura Dyrda -   Print  | Email

The International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery honored several surgeons and researchers with best paper awards at the ISASS19 Annual Meeting.

The honorees include:

1. The Leon L. Wiltse Award for Best Overall Paper - "Traumatic Cervical Spinal Cord Injuries with Fracture: An Investigation of Early Versus Delayed Surgery Among 6,636 Propensity-Matched Patients"

Authors: Frank A. Segreto, Cole A. Bortz, Samantha R. Horn, Dennis Vasquez-Montes, Avery E. Brown, Haddy Alas, Katherine E. Pierce, Mohamed A. Moawad, Bassel G. Diebo, Renaud Lafage, Virginie Lafage, Themistocles Protopsaltis, Aaron J. Buckland, Thomas J. Errico, Peter G. Passias

2. The Charles D. Ray Best Clinical Paper: "MRI Radiological Predictors of Requiring Microscopic Lumbar Discectomy after Lumbar Disc Herniation"

Authors: Christopher Varlotta, Nicholas Stekas, Nicholas Frangella, David Ge, Leah Steinmetz, Jordan Manning, Dennis Vasquez-Montes, Thomas Errico, John Bendo, Gerard Varlotta, Jonathan Stieber, Charla Fischer, Themistocles Protopsaltis, Peter Passias, Aaron Buckland

3. Best Basic Science Paper: "Self-assembling QL6 peptide biomaterial optimizes human neutral stem cell therapy for cervical spinal cord injury"

Authors: Christopher Ahuja, Mohamad Khazaei, Yao Yao, Jacky Lou, Priscilla Chan, Nayaab Punjani, Sohanthen Udayashankar, William Luong, Suyue Lyu, Vjura Senthilnathan, Inaara Walji, Ali Hasan, Jian Wang, Michael Fehlings

More articles on spine surgery:
Awake spinal fusion - 5 key findings
The cost-benefit of BMP for scoliosis surgery: 5 key findings
Spinal fusion with stem cells vs. BMP: 4 key findings

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2020. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies here.