10 orthopedic surgeons to know

Ariana Portalatin -  

Here are 10 physicians performing orthopedic surgery:

Editor's Note: This is not a list of top surgeons, but rather a list highlighting professional accomplishments. Becker's does not endorse any surgeons featured on this list.

This is not an exhaustive list. Physicians are listed in alphabetical order. To nominate a physician for future lists, please contact Ariana Portalatin at aportalatin@beckershealthcare.com

Matthew Abdel, MD. Mayo Clinic (Rochester, Minn.). In addition to practicing at the Mayo Clinic, Dr. Adbel is the Andrew A. and Mary S. professor of orthopedic surgery at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. He most recently completed a yearlong term as president of the Minnesota Orthopedic Society and is a member of the board of directors of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

R. Kiran Alluri, MD. University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine (Los Angeles). Dr. Alluri is an assistant professor of clinical orthopedic surgery. He has published more than 80 peer-reviewed research articles, and his work has been presented at more than 130 research meetings.

Howard An, MD. Rush University Medical Center (Chicago). Dr. An is director of the spine fellowship program at the hospital. He has held the Morton international endowed chair position at Rush since 1997. He has published more than 320 peer-reviewed articles, 100 book chapters and 20 textbooks on spinal surgery and instrumentation.

Steve Behrens, MD. Hospital for Special Surgery (New York CIty). Dr. Behrens specializes in disorders of the foot and ankle, traumatic injuries to the lower extremities and sports-related conditions. He has authored numerous peer-reviewed articles and book chapters and has received several grants for his research, which has been presented at national and international meetings.

Cara Cipriano, MD. Penn Medicine (Philadelphia). Dr. Cipriano was recently named chief of orthopedic oncology at Penn Medicine. She is also an associate professor of orthopedic surgery at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Darren Johnson, MD. University of Kentucky Healthcare (Lexington). Dr. Johnson is a past president of the Southern Orthopedic Association. He is part of a team of researchers studying anterior cruciate ligament injuries to better understand how movement and muscle dysfunction affect pain and function in injured orthopedic patients.

Randy Schwartzberg, MD. Orlando (Fla.) Orthopaedic Center. Dr. Schwartzberg was recently appointed to the Florida Board of Athletic Training, which oversees and regulates athletics trainers in the state. 

Mark Vrahas, MD. Cedars-Sinai Medical Center (Los Angeles). Dr. Vrahas chairs the orthopedics department at Cedars-Sinai. His research has been published in numerous publications, including the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery, the Journal of Trauma and the Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma. 

Jason Scott Weisstein, MD. Yavapai Regional Medical Center. (Prescott, Ariz.). Dr. Weisstein has published more than 15 book chapters on oncology topics and multiple peer-reviewed articles. He has served on the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons' Musculoskeletal Tumor and Metabolic Diseases Committee. 

Raymond Walls, MD. NYU Langone Hospitals (New York City). Dr. Walls is also a professor in the orthopedic surgery department at the NYU Grossman School of Medicine. In 2008, he received an award from the British Association for Surgery of the Knee for his study showing how neuromuscular electrical stimulation before knee replacement surgery can strengthen patients’ muscles and accelerate recovery. 

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast